Sentimental Moments

Tonight as I sat down to catch up on here, a long time ‘sober’ blogger friend who hasn’t posted in a long time made a post and it really sent me winding down a path of sentiment. I went back through my stats , my subscriber list and started reminiscing. I started this blog in 2019 when i was 6 months into my sobriety. It was a wonderful outlet for me, writing how i was coping, changing and growing. But i really didn’t expect to ever have many followers or to actually get to know anyone in a personal way.It turned out to be amazing and by the “Roarin’ 20’s”( the year 2020, anyway) i had met so many on here, most of whom were also somewhere on their journey into recovery from alcohol. It’s been a crazy, enlightening journey and I am pleased to say i still interact with some of you:)

One of the things i noticed too is how that year, it seemed like the blogging world was enjoying a second heyday( the first being way back when blogging and the internet was just becoming popular ), probably due to the pandemic and so many feeling isolated. I doubt blogging will see another year like that for a long time. Since then it seems like the best of it has died down and now more “advertising” and “trigger news” articles have replaced the raw and deeply personal posts i enjoyed and really needed. Those days when i was barely getting through my recovery, my slips, and eventually my relapse… i needed the support i found on here and will always be grateful beyond words!

Another thing i noted when examining the insights more closely is that i had never considered how my own interaction on here also seemed to correlate with the # of views i received and how many new subscribers i got. For instance, take a look at this screen shot:

Screenshot

This shows the # of views by the month and year. I went back and realized that while i was posting almost daily or at least 3-4 times weekly for the first 2 years, i started slacking off and was posting way less from 2022 to the present. In essence, the fewer posts i made the less interaction. Makes sense, right? So, i cannot blame everything on algorithms, or the uprising of the advertisers and trigger news articles.

All of that being said, i’m still ok with it. I’m in a better place with everything overall and am a better person for having been present on this format. I was able to accomplish more than i ever dreamed and becoming alcohol free was the best thing i’ve ever done. I couldn’t have done it without this blog and those who supported me along the way. Thank you a million times over!

I did meet some also not related to sobriety. And i certainly appreciate you guys also! It’s been a blast getting to know people from other countries, and enjoying the journaling of those with such a variety of interests. Your passions, your ups and downs, your thoughts and just simply reading about what drives you has had a profound effect on my own perspectives. Thank you…Thank you!

As time flies by i still find this place to be my go-to when i am looking for anything from relaxing reads to just common ground to plant my feet on. Here’s to many more years together!

Namaste!

Author:

nurse, hiker, artist, and chameleon ...

6 thoughts on “Sentimental Moments

  1. Yes it makes sense that the more we interacted, the more views/visitors we received. Since I haven’t consciously made time to reflect, write, read, and connect, my blog viewership has completely dried up. Again, makes sense, but I’m glad we had that time to interact and support one another during those especially difficult years. I wish it could be the same now though, because I do miss and think about you all. 💛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this! I’m thankful we got to “meet” and have still kept in touch on here! I was just thinking yesterday I really wanted to write a blog. My blogs get minimal comments and views however, I do love to write and I always feel better after I do! Thanks for always coming back to good O’l WordPress! 🙌🏻❤️🙌🏻❤️ ( I like WP better than Jetpack as far as names go. )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.